From Paris with Love (and the USO)

It was almost two years ago that C invited me to Germany. He had a few more months before he would return home to the states and this was my shot to tour Europe. What could be better — I had plenty of frequent flier miles, a free place to stay, the Euro-rail is cheap, and my passport was in need of a few more stamps. Even so, I was hesitant. We hadn’t seen each other since college and I worried that I would end up touring around by myself. I hedged until he said the magic word. Paris.

View from the riverboat

Friends who look at the trip pictures say that they can see us falling in love. An especially observant friend says he can pinpoint the specific picture. I smile when I see that crazy self-pic taken from our cramped bus seat. Then I think of the USO.We were on a USO sponsored trip to Paris that day. We consider it our first date. I consider it my introduction to military life; my first adventure. I don’t know what I was expecting, but I was surprised to meet so many parents of service members. They had put their lives back home on hold to support their children in Europe. Some were on holiday, but most were there to take care of their grandchildren during a deployment.

Yes, the trip was life changing. (After all, it was my last first date.) We ate crepes on the Champs Elysees, drank champagne in the shadow of Notre Dame, and watched the twinkling lights of the Eiffel Tower during a full moon. Crepes at the Christmas MarketBut it was also eye-opening. The stories of the 30 people in our group will live with me forever. They serve as the catalyst for me to get involved with the USO and to help enhance the lives of our service members.

Since this trip the USO has come to our aid in dozens of ways. I only hope that my stories and contributions will serve them well.

Has the USO played a role in your life? I’d love to hear your story.

What are your thoughts?